Tags

, , , , , ,

meet Glennon Doyle Melton (her About-Glennon page makes my tears catch in my throat with sharpness and understanding) her book Carry On, Warrior: Thoughts on Life Unarmed is my summer read.

so much of what she writes and speaks about i understand on a deep level. we share frighteningly similar experiences in and about life.

a) “I had a relatively magical childhood, which added an extra layer of guilt to my pain and confusion.  Glennon- why are you all jacked up when you have no excuse to be all jacked up?? My best guess is that I was born a little broken…” kim, what’s your effin’ deal? you have zero reason to be eff’d up, so why are you so eff’d up?

b) “… because I had no clue what else to do – I prayed. I prayed the only way I know how to pray – in moans and accusations and apologies and tears and wild promises.” the prayers that change everything are always done this way, aren’t they?

c) “Marrying Craig [insert my husband’s name here] turned out to be the best decision I never really made.”

d) “And that nakedness, brokenness, and sensitivity I was born with? They’ve turned out to be my greatest gifts. My nakedness allows me to tell the truth without shame or fear and my brokenness is what allows others to trust and love me. My sensitivity is what drives me to feel the pain of others and love them so fiercely. The parts of me that made the first half of my life so exceptionally hard are the exact same parts making the second half exceptional.” ouch, with a side of affirming, snotty, outloud sob.

e) “I write this blog because it’s part of my healing process… Life can’t be stuffed down with food or booze or exercise or work or cutting or shopping for long… We have to Live – we have to show up for ourselves and each other – even when it hurts. It’s the only way through.” writing is the way i try to sort it all out. it’s the way i maintain clarity and gratitude. it’s the way i vent and self-assess, and it’s the way i love those i can’t possibly know. it’s a way for me to show up and encourage. it’s the way i teach myself. and the way i practice.

for me, Glennon is proof. and validation.

you’re NEVER alone the way you think you are.
someone else DOES get where you’re at.
every day. again and again, you CAN choose new.

peace my sweet soul sisters, everywhere.
xoK

